×

Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

Before you choose to head back to the Classic look of the site, we'd appreciate it if you share your thoughts on the Beta; your feedback is what drives our ongoing development.

Beta is different and we value you taking the time to try it out. Please take a look at the changes we've made in Beta and  learn more about it. Thanks for reading, and for making the site better!

cancel ×
This is a preview of your comment

No Comment Title Entered

Anonymous Coward 1 minute ago

No Comment Entered

254 comments

Four days? (-1, Redundant)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807214)

No way I'm four days worth of first posts.
Just no way.
If I don't hit the submit button soon them I'm sure...

MoneyDance is a good start... (4, Funny)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807217)

I'm just curious when MoneyDinner, MoneyMovie, and MoneyGoBackToMyPlace are scheduled for release!

Re:MoneyDance is a good start... (5, Funny)

Gen. Fault (621402) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807314)

I'm just curious when MoneyDinner, MoneyMovie, and MoneyGoBackToMyPlace are scheduled for release!

And soon after that (I hope) is MoneyShot!

Re:MoneyDance is a good start... (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807488)


Followed years later by LapDance

Re:MoneyDance is a good start... (1)

Kneht (218314) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807486)

Can I just install MoneyGoBackToMyPlace, or is it just an add-on that requires MoneyDance, MoneyDinner, and MoneyMovie be installed first?

Possibly /.'d (-1, Redundant)

BluGuy (617572) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807222)

Unless "Warning: Too many connections in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 28 Warning: Access denied for user: 'apache@localhost' (Using password: NO) in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32 Warning: MySQL Connection Failed: Access denied for user: 'apache@localhost' (Using password: NO) in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32 Warning: MySQL: A link to the server could not be established in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32 Unable to select database" is the article text.

Review is slashdotted.. anyone got a mirror? (-1, Redundant)

thing12 (45050) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807223)

Already!! There are no comments on this story and it's already slashdotted.

Does it import Gnucash files? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807224)

I was kiddind, the body said "Geared toward current windows users".

Re:Does it import Gnucash files? (1)

Deth_Master (598324) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807305)

not necessarily true...
You could be a Wine user. I run Quicken 2002 Basic in Linux.
But it probably doesn't import Gnucash files...
gnucash is a ho to get working anyway, at least from source

one of (-1, Troll)

REBloomfield (550182) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807225)

the biggest beefs i had when i switched from windows to Mac was the abscence of Quicken, or anything similar.. so yay!

Quicken for Mac (2, Informative)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807250)

There is a Quicken for Mac. I use it. It's right here. Really. I will resist swearing at you and calling you names because it's Friday.

Re:one of (2, Informative)

mental_telepathy (564156) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807396)

When did you switch to Mac? I have had Quicken on my mac since 1999. They have kept pretty current, as well. Downloading financial transactions took some time, but is available in the most recent version.

Re:one of (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807492)

You're joking, right?

My iMac *came* with Quicken 2002 Deluxe, right there on the desktop from a fresh install of Jaguar.

I also have Quicken 2003 Deluxe, and Quickbooks Pro, both native Aqua applications.

MoneyDance on Linux (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807228)

I've been a MoneyDance user for a long time.

I've tried this on Linux - don't even bother with the Linux version.

The Linux version is buggy and slow - it needs a LOT of work before it is viable as money management software.

The Windows version, on the other hand, is quick and isn't riddled with the bugs that the Linux version is. In fact, about six months ago I weened myself off of Quicken entirely and now I ONLY use MoneyDance on Windows.

I just wish the Linux version wasn't so buggy/shitty.

Re:MoneyDance on Linux -- Huh? (4, Informative)

MCRocker (461060) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807324)

What? It's a Java application. It works the same on both systems. Heck, I've been using MoneyDance for years on OS/2 and find that it works just great. Platform should make no difference at all.

You must be thinking of something else or using a really bad JVM on Linux. Some older linuxen use Kafe as their default JVM and Kafe has lots of bugs. Perhaps that's your problem. Try it with Blackdown's JVM instead.

Re:MoneyDance on Linux -- Huh? (2, Insightful)

Apreche (239272) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807446)

The trueness. Even in Mandrake 9 it uses kaffe instead of sun java. You have to install sun java yourself, which is easy enough. But you have to replace the symbolic links in /usr/bin with ones that point to the sun java. When I tried to install jython I realized this.

I'm kind of dissapointed about this MoneyDance program though. It looks like it's really cool and simple. Which is just what I need because I don't do complicated things with my money. But it's a java program, and it isn't free as in beer or speech. If I had extra money to spend on software I wouldn't need a money managing program.

Re:MoneyDance on Linux (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807342)

I've been through them all on almost every platform - Moneydance, Quicken, Gnucash...

and you're absolutely right. Moneydance on Linux does BLOW - however, I've been very happy with Moneydance on Windows. I'll never buy Quicken again.

And to the Gnucash advocates - I would urge you to do a feature by feature comparison of Gnucash and Moneydance. Gnucash is lacking in MANY areas.

Unfortunately, the fact is that there is no decent money management/accounting software out there right now for Linux.

Given the dry nature of this type of software, I suspect that there isn't anything viable out there because Opensource developers consider it boring - and maybe thats the problem with OSS.

Re:MoneyDance on Linux (0)

McWilde (643703) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807400)

I thought this looked familiar... It [slashdot.org] wasn't considered informative then.

Re:MoneyDance on Linux (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807423)

Typical slashdotter. Anyone criticizes linux, it must be a troll.

Have you considered the possibility that maybe both of these posts came from informed users of the software and that the Linux version really did suck?

Re:MoneyDance on Linux (1, Funny)

molarmass192 (608071) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807424)

Nice fscking troll ... it's a java app and it uses the same code. Besides, it's common knowledge (except to you apparently) that Java apps run FASTER under Linux than on that sad sack excuse for an OS you call Windows. Whomever modded your dirty post up is a friggen moron. Now get back to work (unless you work in the FUD department that is) before Ballmer catches you ogling the goatse guy again.

Moneydance (5, Informative)

lostchicken (226656) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807230)

It's not free. See Here. [moneydance.com]
However, GNUCash [gnucash.org] will run on all the platforms listed, and is free.

Re:Moneydance (3, Insightful)

override11 (516715) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807279)

I dont believe the article said ANYWHERE it was free.

Because it will run on Linux, you assume it is? You know,, Linux will never become the de-facto OS if people are not willing to PAY for developers to make software for it.

The article didn't say it... (2, Informative)

radio4fan (304271) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807340)

... but it was from the free-money-programs-but-no-free-money dept.

Defacto Misunderstanding (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807456)

It seems cpeterson is another person who missed the memo:

Smart Linux users don't care if it EVER becomes the 'defacto' OS. In fact, intelligent people realize that in order for Linux to become the standard OS, some controlling third party would have to 'steer' it.

If you knew anything about free software, you would realize that it is improbable that any ONE group could CONTROL Linux because anyone is FREE to modify it and release their modified version.

Linux will never be less than it is today, because I can save all the source onto a CD and recompile it anytime I like. So if Linux users are happy with Linux the way it is, then they will always be happy with it. If they are not happy with it, they have the source and can modify it. Get it?

You can go back to rebooting your company's windoze machines now.

Re:Moneydance (1)

gosand (234100) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807471)

I dont believe the article said ANYWHERE it was free. Because it will run on Linux, you assume it is? You know,, Linux will never become the de-facto OS if people are not willing to PAY for developers to make software for it.

Who ever said they wanted Linux to become the de-facto OS?

I know I sure as hell don't. I just want to use it, and not have anyone try to prevent me from using it.

Re:Moneydance :: WRONG (2, Informative)

ravenwing_np (22379) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807377)

However, GNUCash will run on all the platforms listed

How can you sleep at night when you tell us such lies? No where on the site do I see anything about running on Windows. If you are trying to move people from away from MS software, you have to do it slowly to give them a chance to cope.

GNUcash doesn't run on windows (3, Informative)

scpotter (84436) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807428)

However, GNUCash will run on all the platforms listed, and is free. Actually, GNUcash doesn't run on windows, the third 'platform' listed. Unless you're using a more narrow definition of platform than most.

Re:GNUcash doesn't run on windows (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807477)

You can run GNUCash on Windows platforms. You don't really sound you you really want to know how to do it, so I'll just say to ask google.

Re:Moneydance (4, Insightful)

jdreed1024 (443938) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807444)

However, GNUCash [gnucash.org] will run on all the platforms listed, and is free.

First of all, GNUcash does not run on Windows without much frobbing. Yes, I know we don't like Windows 'round these parts, but there are plenty of folks who do. Secondly, GNUcash is not designed to be a drop-in replacement for Quicken. This program clearly is. I just downloaded the Windows version, and I'm happy with it. I'll never use MS Money or Quicken again.

If we want Linux to succeed, we have to acknowledge that there is room for proprietary software. (Linus has the right idea - leave it up to the users to decide what they want to use it for). If you don't like proprietary software, don't use it. But Free Software is about Freedom. Kind of like the Freedom to run whatever programs you want. If GNUcash is a better program than Moneydance, then Moneydance will die, without any assistance from the zealots. If, OTOH, Moneydance fills another niche, then both will survive.

Like it or not, software like this is vital to getting Linux on the desktop. If people want to pay, let them pay. But let them decide which they like better - don't presume to dictate their software choice to them. GNUcash takes effort to set up, especially on some MacOS X and Windows. Sure, it's not a _LOT_ of effort, but it's more than the standard "double click install.exe" that folks are used to.

I'm getting tired of seeing responses to every non-free Linux program mentioned on /. along the lines of "Boo, it's proprietary, use $bar instead". If you know of and use a better, l33ter program to accomplish the same task, then maybe, just maybe, you're not the intended audience of the new piece of software. In that case, don't use it. But why disparage it in front of potential users? Sure, there are some things to be worried about. Like when MS releases Office and Windows Media Player for Linux, I'll start to get nervous, and recommened OpenOffice and Mplayer instead. But when a company comes along with a good product, and sells it for a reasonable price, don't bitch just for the sake of bitching.

Lastly, let's not forget the goal of this program. A drop in replacement for Quicken, available for Linux, OS X, and Windows. The last platform is perhaps the MOST important. The installation on Windows is as easy as any other Windows program. And it reads QIF files. And it has most Quicken features. But it's not Quicken. And this is excellent. Because guess who makes Quicken? Our good friends at Intuit, makers of the wonderful TurboTax with activiation that we were all bitching about a while back. If Intuit can lose some market share because of this program, it's still a good thing. Because it's taking people away from a company that treats their customers like criminals.

Gnucash is just fine (5, Insightful)

Renegade Lisp (315687) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807232)

A user's comment on this review at madpenguin.org states the obvious: What about GnuCash [gnucash.org]? It turns out that GnuCash is very comparable to this product in terms of features, and for somebody who'd rather stick with free software, there should be no rational need to buy MoneyDance.

I've been using GnuCash for my personal accounting for a year and a half now, and I must say that it's absolutely enough for all that I need (I'm a freelance consultant), and lots of interesting new features are on the horizon.

conrad on gnucash (5, Informative)

Renegade Lisp (315687) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807256)

More interesting than the review itself, here is conrad's comment from madpenguin.org (I'm including it below because the server is already slashdotted):
For those of you who would be prepared to pay money for Moneydance, can I recommend that you look at Gnucash and save your money. MadJudu waves his hand at Gnucash and dismisses it, and then goes on to praise MoneyDance for now doing what Gnucash has mostly been able to do for several years.

The Gnucash interface mightn't have the "lean and mean" look that MadJudu favours, but it is fairly simple and after a small amount of aclimatization (it is very different from quicken), you will (in my opinion) find it far more useful.

Gnucash does most of the other things MoneyDance does, plus a few extras. Gnucash can interface with HBCI (the German online computer banking standard). Gnucash doesn't have the budgeting features (yet), but does have simple Accounts Payable/Accounts Receivable functionality for people with slightly more complicated accounting requirements.

Most of the complaints and comments MadJudu makes about MoneyDance also apply to Gnucash. In fact, I almost wondered if MadJudu was reviewing Gnucash at times.

So, whats the biggest selling point for Gnucash over MoneyDance? Price! Why spend US$30, when the Gnucash developers charge you the princely sum of NOTHING in whatever currency you prefer. Same low price, always!

The biggest disadvantage (for those so afflicted) is that Gnucash does not run on any Microsoft OS. Linux, MacOS-X, and FreeBSD are available. Probably others too.

Get Gnucash from your favourite Linux distribution (its packaged by all major distributions), or visit http://www.gnucash.org/ for more details.

Re:conrad on gnucash (2, Interesting)

tdvaughan (582870) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807359)

I agree - GNUCash has been great for my fairly basic needs (once I got it installed that is - that really epitomised dependency hell for me and I still haven't installed Finance::Check properly). Since I'd never used a personal accounting package before the biggest hurdle was getting to grips with the concepts of double entry accounting. That was a really useful skill for me to pick up. And it isn't entirely bug-free (some of the reporting functions didn't work properly but in day-to-day use it's been fine) but the devs were always helpful on their IRC channel, even with questions I realised were stupid afterwards.

Re:Gnucash is just fine (2, Interesting)

Angry White Guy (521337) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807266)

Gnucash is a good program, but you better know how to use your ldd command to get the bastard installed. It relies on so many libraries that a newbie would get fed up with it and run quicken.

Great program when running, but horrible to get it there.

Re:Gnucash is just fine (1)

Renegade Lisp (315687) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807312)

Gnucash is a good program, but you better know how to use your ldd command to get the bastard installed. It relies on so many libraries that a newbie would get fed up with it and run quicken.
I've been using the version that comes with Debian unstable since day one, and I've never had the slightest problems. Yes, the GnuCash homepage has a few scary remarks about its tangled dependencies, but the Debian guys did a great job to make this as smooth as for any other software.

Re:Gnucash is just fine (1)

Angry White Guy (521337) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807335)

Yeah, but face it, Debian should be the last flavor that would complain about dependancies.

I installed on slackware, compiled from source, found out what was missing from the configure script, compiled that from source, installed Gnome 1.4, re-installed Gnome 2, configured gnucash, compiled, then renamed some libraries, ldconfig'd and was running GnuCash just in time to switch over to KDE 3.1, where I'm looking for a good native money manager.

Maybe by the time I find one or write one, I'll have money to manage :)

Re:Gnucash is just fine (-1, Troll)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807470)

Maybe if you weren't so busy fucking around with hackware you'd have time to earn some money. The funniest thing about your post is that you seem to already be aware that debian would solve these problems for you.

Re:Gnucash is just fine (1)

Angry White Guy (521337) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807534)

Yeah, Debian would solve one problem, it wouldn't solve them all. And I don't consider it fucking around. I learned more about how my system operates in that one episode than I did in months of fucking around.

Re:Gnucash is just fine (2, Informative)

xiaix (247688) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807341)

I remember those days. However the install has gotten much easier (at least for the lazy.) The Red Hat RPM installs fine through up2date, and the gentoo install also works without a hitch. Not a single dependency / library problem, although if you want to use the stock updates you may need to add some things via cpan.

I used to dual boot solely for Quicken, but that stopped years ago when they made internet explorer an integrated part of their product. I have been using Gnucash since, and with the new features in the 1.8 releases scheduled payments and billing customers for my home based business is easier than ever.

Still plan to check out the new moneydance when time (and server load) permits...

Re:Gnucash is just fine (1)

Copperhead (187748) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807391)

Hmmm...

> emerge gnucash

Gotta love Gentoo [gentoo.org] ;-)

Re:Gnucash is just fine (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807502)

Or, if you prefer...

> apt-get install gnucash

Debian [debian.org] ain't no slouch, either.

Re:Gnucash is just fine (2, Insightful)

pongo000 (97357) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807407)

Imagine a world where all those people who would otherwise shell out $30 for MoneyDance would be willing to donate half of that to support "free" comparable software such as Gnucash.

Just imagine.

Karma Whore I am, I am... (-1, Redundant)

BluGuy (617572) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807235)

Article Text: MadPenguin does the tango with MoneyDance 2003 (Posted on Tuesday, April 22 @ 22:12:13 EDT ) For those of you who may not have heard, MoneyDance 2003 was released on March 28th, 2003 for general public consumption. It is available for Linux, Mac OSX, and also Windows. Geared toward current Intuit Quicken and Microsoft Money users, MoneyDance 2003 is packed full of features. This is more than a software release to the Linux world. It is a step forward. Until now, Linux had a fairly large hole which was void of proper personal finance software (aside from the obvious gnucash), but MoneyDance seems to be on the right track to bridging that gap. At one time, when the software was dropped by the company that owned it, the outlook appeared bleak... but since it's been given new life by it's original developer, Reilly Technologies, MoneyDance appears to have a bright future. On to the review... by MadJudu: When asked if I was interested in reviewing MoneyDance 2003, I jumped at the opportunity. As a long-time Windows user and Computer Applications Instructor I have been eagerly awaiting software such as MoneyDance to make my conversion from Windows to Linux complete. It has been a slow process finding quality, sophisticated Linux software that is comparable to their Windows counterparts. Fortunately in banking software I have found a keeper with MoneyDance and am one step closer to making this happen. Below are my observations on this great software. INSTALLATION The installation was quick and easy. I filled out the information on their free download link and that took me to the instruction page. The instructions were simple and few, just the way I like it. This was my first unsupervised Linux install. The only thing I needed an explanation for was the following symbol "%>" which is the Konsole prompt. At first I didn't realize that I wasn't supposed to type that along with the command. IMPORTING QIF FILES I created nine exported QIF files from Quicken, which contained all the info for my accounts. There were three bank, four credit, and two cash accounts. The first time you open MoneyDance the opening screen has three options: Create New File, Open Existing File and Import File. The program already knows that you're importing a QIF file once you click on the Import File button. All the accounts imported easily, however there were a number of duplicate transactions created in the process. The help files noted that this is a possibility and that you may have to "find and remove a duplicate transaction or two." In the case of a year's worth of transactions, it would be more than a few duplicates and wasn't worth the trouble. I ended up not importing the two cash accounts. All the other accounts imported without creating duplicates and with the same balances that were on the original Quicken accounts. As soon as I added the cash accounts, most of the account balances changed with the added duplicate files. I do not believe that this is a problem with MoneyDance as much as it is a problem with the originating software. It would be preferable if QIF files included all the bank accounts in one QIF instead of one QIF for each individual account. With this design it would seem that duplicates are inevitable. This is something to consider when trying to decide whether to transfer your account information to MoneyDance or just start fresh with a brand new file and go from there. As a side note, I noticed that there is also an option to import OFX (Open Financial Exchange) through the Menu Bar if your current banking software does not use QIF. EASE OF USE The program is simple and easy to use. All accounts are shown in your Root Account (Home Page) in a kind of "snapshot" format. It lists each name and account balance. From there you can select an account and go into that register. Whatever account you choose to use, each new transaction is shown as a blank check. You just fill in the appropriate blanks and select Record. There are useful features that are similar to Quicken such as the date shortcut codes (t=today, y=beginning of the year, m=beginning of the month, h=end of the month and r=end of the year). The only difference between this and Quicken is that MoneyDance rotates only during the current year where as in Quicken the date rotates continuously. For example, if you press "y" twice in Quicken, the first one will go to the beginning of this year, the second one will go to the beginning of last year and so on. MoneyDance stops at the current year. There is also an auto-completion feature. I recommend that you set your preferences to turn off "Case Sensitive Auto Completion." This will allow to to use auto complete, but not have to use upper and lower case typing in the process. The Account List and Check Number boxes are also auto fill combo boxes. The only thing I don't like about auto-fills is when it fills in the amount of a previous transaction along with the name and account. How often have you had your grocery bill be the same amount as the last time you went shopping? There is a Split feature so that you can break up one transaction into various accounts. These are all standard features of Quicken and it is very nice to see standard features of MoneyDance as well. One feature that is a nice addition and is not as readily accessible in Quicken is the Memorize Button. With MoneyDance it is right there when you're entering your transaction. So instead of entering your rent or mortgage check every month, just click on the Memorize Button. A dialog box will come up giving you entry options of how you want this transaction to be shown. You can set it for once a month, once a year or on set days throughout the month. Then when you're ready to enter that transaction, you click on the reminder and press the Record Transaction Button. The reminder also shows on the Calendar that is on your Root Account. It is very nice to see the Calendar so conveniently located. Another wonderful feature of the Reminders is that you have the option of not only adding a Transaction Reminder, but you can do a General Reminder as well. This means you can add your paydays and other important dates that will help you budget your financing better. Deleting a transaction is quick and painless by selecting the transaction you want to delete and pressing the Delete Button. And as an added delight it doesn't ask you the obnoxious question "Are you sure?" REPORTS AND GRAPHS At first I thought there were no report options, but then I noticed the four icons on the right side of the Root Account (Home, Find, Charts, Reports). The Reports feature has a number of pre-designed reports such as Net Worth, Cash Flow, Missing Checks and Memorized Reports. I would have liked to have my memorized reports transferred over from Quicken but since it took me less than two minutes to create three memorized reports I can't really complain. Although I have little use for graphs, it is another useful and easy to use feature with pre-designed graphs in 3D or 2D and they too can be memorized. Both Memorized Reports and Graphs will show up as a link on the Root Account once they have been created. Yet another useful and convenient feature which can be removed if you so desire through your Preferences. FINAL THOUGHTS I was able to dabble in just about everything MoneyDance had to offer with the exception of Investment Accounts. I have none as of yet, but I can't imagine it being a difficult process to create and use them since nothing else in this application was. Overall I found the software very easy to use. It has most of the features of Quicken and in many cases, in an easier to use design. Quicken has a lot more bells and whistles, but in my opinion most of it is fluff and not necessary. MoneyDance is streamlined. It is lean and mean, but in a good way. It has all the features you would need with the conveniences and shortcuts you like, and is definitely worth the purchase price of $29.99 plus applicable tax. I have only one complaint and that is that the MoneyDance file has to be saved. Instead of each transaction being saved as it is recorded, I still have to save the file before exiting in order to keep the recorded data. Fortunately there is an auto-save feature, just in case I space it and forget to save before exiting. MoneyDance will then give me the option of returning to a newer auto-save file or the file as it was when I last exited. There is one thing I would like to see in the future though and that is the capability to make a year end copy. When you use banking software as long as I have, you don't want one huge file with years and years of transactions. The current year will do with back up copies of all previous years. The only thing I ask is that the makers of MoneyDance make it better than Quicken's. It works, mostly...

Re:Karma Whore I am, I am... (1)

sould (301844) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807337)

Yup. Thanks for that.

The article text is really helpful without screenshots.

Thanks for parsing out the carriage returns too...

After all one nice big clean block of text looks much neater hey?

Moderators - give the parent plenty of points for this

This is a good thing (1)

nberardi (199555) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807236)

This is a good thing because now I can put off balancing my check book virtually too.

So who is up? (0, Funny)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807238)

The article also mentions that this thing is worth$30, or that you have to pay $30 for it.
So let it begin.
It's a linux, mac, BSD app for sale. Good for them, I hope they make money off of it.

mad whaoo ? (0, Funny)

KingRamsis (595828) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807244)

toasted madpenguin :-))

Warning: Too many connections in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 28 Warning: Access denied for user: 'apache@localhost' (Using password: NO) in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32 Warning: MySQL Connection Failed: Access denied for user: 'apache@localhost' (Using password: NO) in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32 Warning: MySQL: A link to the server could not be established in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32 Unable to select database

Re:mad whaoo ? (1, Offtopic)

WPIDalamar (122110) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807463)

But the thing to notice:

apache@localhost' (Using password: NO)

All the evil crackers out there are plotting already... passwordless sql.

Re:mad whaoo ? (1)

ClippyHater (638515) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807541)

I saw that, too, and am hoping that the user without the password only has read-only rights for the db and nothing else. Of course, then you're relying completely on the dbms's security mechanism--better to give a password in addition to read-only rights. But hey, it's refreshing to find someone who truly believes in their backend's security nowadays :)

MoneyDance2003 (1, Funny)

WesG (589258) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807245)

I guess the secret to saving money is not paying extra for bandwidth and database connections :-)

Delete protection (4, Insightful)

mccalli (323026) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807260)

From the review: Deleting a transaction is quick and painless by selecting the transaction you want to delete and pressing the Delete Button. And as an added delight it doesn't ask you the obnoxious question "Are you sure?"

But these are my accounts! I want to be protected against accidently deleting things. To take a random example, suppose I think I've clicked into a text field to start typing, whereas what I've really done is just highlighted the whole transation. I press delete and...

Oops. Hope I still have the bank statements for that one. I'll enjoy tracking the discrepency down, I'm sure...

Sometimes, it's good to have confirmation required before performing a destructive task. Imagine a similar review saying "And better still, no pesky usage screen or prompt - just typing the command name instantly low-level formats your SCSI RAID array...".

Cheers,
Ian

Re:Delete protection (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807347)

perhaps you are unfamiliar with magic undo technology? dunno if that's in there, but..

MonkeyDance? (5, Funny)

quebeck (652245) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807262)

Did anyone else read this as "MonkeyDance 2003" and think it was some Steve Ballmer rave event?

Yep (-1)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807281)

I had to read it a couple of times to make sure it wasn't an Ximian product!

Warning - (5, Funny)

vasqzr (619165) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807274)


This site is NOTHING like Hampster Dance [hampsterdance2.com]!!

Re:Warning - (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807437)

I think you're on the wrong story here, as this is definitely much closer to art than ZOMBOCOM.

Just type in the damn URL, mkay? (4, Insightful)

Rinikusu (28164) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807282)

Maybe they don't like the /. referral tags?

Again for all the "free software people" and the million and one "JUST USE GNUCASH!" folks, here is something for you:

Free software may be fine and dandy, but some of us don't actually mind *paying* for software if said software does the job well. Shocking, isn't it? Free is not the end all, all encompassing criteria for a great majority of computer users out there. I know, you're trying to change that, but face it: Commercial software is not inherently evil, Proprietary software is not evil, RMS be damned.

Here's something to ponder: With OpenSource software, I get the source and I can tweak the software any which way I want! Yay! So, after I spend a few weeks poking my way around the source code and finally figuring out where and how to make the changes I need, I could've just gone down to BestBuy and bought another copy of Money or Quicken and have been done with it. What I'm buying is *convenience*. Ever notice that the QuickEMart on the corner sells stuff at quite a premium over the grocery store down the street? Convenience. Sometimes convenience costs money, and I'm willing to pay the "tax" to get something now, not 3 weeks from now.

Re:Just type in the damn URL, mkay? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807326)

Let's see if I got this straight.

You have two packages, and they are equialent in the utility for you (some bits you don't like in one, you like in the other, and vice-versa).

One is Free, on costs money.

You will prefer the one that costs.

Why?

(Note: I'm not against PAYING for software, but why does that make "USE GNU/CASH" a silly option?)

Re:Just type in the damn URL, mkay? (4, Insightful)

sultanoslack (320583) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807349)

Sadly you've missed the point of Free Software.

  • Free Software isn't software that you don't pay for. You must be new here.
  • Let's say you want to integrate i.e. Quicken / GnuCash into your business. There are features in there that are valuable to you and not available in any package (i.e. things specific to your workflow). Sure, you might have to pay one of the local geeks [EUR/$]1000 to hack that feature in, but you can't do that for any price with most proprietary software.
  • See point one again. If you want stuff from Free Software, you might have to pay for it. But I assure you that people exist that will cater to your whims for a price. :-)

Re:Just type in the damn URL, mkay? (1)

Rinikusu (28164) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807381)

I generally don't reply to stuff like this, but take a gander at my user ID. I'm definately not new here.

Second, Just because Free Software can be charged for, just about every post here criticizing MoneyDance will be based on "It's not Free (in beer)" and "it's java! Java sux0r5!". I chose to provide an alternative viewpoint to the first (and let someone else handle the java part).

Third, I'm a desktop user. If I were running a business, GnuCash may or may not meet my needs. Can you tell the IRS to hang on for awhile while your team of crack programmers code in the features you need to do your taxes? Or tell your customers that "We're currently implementing new features in our Accounting software, sorry, come back later!"

I assure you, I'm quite aware that there are people that cater to my whims for a price. Microsoft, Intuit, Sun, Apple...

Re:Just type in the damn URL, mkay? (1)

Renegade Lisp (315687) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807358)

Free software may be fine and dandy, but some of us don't actually mind *paying* for software if said software does the job well.
I would be more than happy to pay the GnuCash developers if there was a common mechanism by which free software developers could be rewarded. (And yes, I'm donating money to one or another free software project occasionally already.)

As the saying goes: this is about freedom, not price. MoneyDance ties you to this particular company; you are at their mercy if you need enhancements to the product, or whatever. With free software, you, or anyone you chose to hire for the job, can make whatever enhancements you need. That's the promise of the free software model, and I'm definitely prepared to pay for something like that.

Re:Just type in the damn URL, mkay? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807360)

so it is true. americans are fat and lazy, unable to do anything for themselves. i thought this was just a stereotype, but hey, you've gone and proven it.

Re:Just type in the damn URL, mkay? (3, Insightful)

Zigg (64962) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807362)

So, after I spend a few weeks poking my way around the source code and finally figuring out where and how to make the changes I need, I could've just gone down to BestBuy and bought another copy of Money or Quicken and have been done with it. What I'm buying is *convenience*.

Of course you are, but you are assuming that you absolutely will be able to buy the feature you want by swinging on down to the store and buying your copy of whatever. Simply because you're in the store waving your credit card around doesn't make the feature you want magically appear.

You see, if the vendor doesn't think the feature you want is worth implementing, it won't get implemented; proprietary software developers are generally paranoid about giving you the means to implement it or pay someone else to implement it.

Perhaps it is you who should ponder (1)

FreeUser (11483) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807375)

Free software may be fine and dandy, but some of us don't actually mind *paying* for software if said software does the job well. [...] What I'm buying is *convenience*.

What you are buying is a hostage situation for your data. What do you do if MoneyDance goes out of business? (No need to belabor all of the underhanded tactics software vendors can and do use to coerce upgrades by holding one's data hostage: MoneyDance isn't Sun Microsystems or Microsoft, but the end user's vulnerability is the same, and non-malicious causes abound in sufficient quantity to make the point.) All that convinience, all that time "saved" gets to now be paid back, with interest, as you laboriously move your data to another format (or even, perhaps, have to reenter it by hand).

I too have been more than willing to pay for good software in the past (I used Quicken at one time, and have paid for Blender, back when it was commercial, as well as various video editing software [much of which, under windows, never worked. Transcode, cinelerra, et. al. may have a learning curve, but they work, and my data will be accessible and usable in perpetuity, until the very bits themselves decay. Under Windows I have data that, three years later, is unavailable because of a changing OS, and discontinued software).

GNUcash is excellent. It is elegantly designed, it works, it does the job, and it's being free insures my financial data will be usable, and accessible, ten, twenty, fifty, even a hundred years from now. Quicken, MoneyDance, et. al. not only cannot guarantee that, but past experience shows that, with them and indeed, with any proprietary software, the data so stored will lose usability in less than half a decade.

If free software really doesn't float your boat, and convinience of the moment outweighs any medium or long term concerns about the accessibility and usability of your data, then go right ahead and cut corners as you so advocate. But at least be honest with yourself as to the real tradeoff you are making, and don't go looking for symphathy when it turns around and bites you.

Re:Just type in the damn URL, mkay? (2, Insightful)

$rtbl_this (584653) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807392)

I can't help but get the feeling that you're confusing the ability to modify the source code with some kind of necessity to do so. Most of the open source software I use does what I want without me having to change a single line of code, as does most of the equivalent closed source. The difference is that if a program doesn't do something I want and it's open source I can do something more constructive about it than submit feature requests, wait and hope not to get fobbed off.

Re:Just type in the damn URL, mkay? (1, Redundant)

IamTheRealMike (537420) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807452)

Free software may be fine and dandy, but some of us don't actually mind *paying* for software if said software does the job well. Shocking, isn't it?

I feel you should read the writings of Stallman, in particular the article about the early days of the GNU project. In particular, I'd note that Stallman made a living for many years by selling tapes with emacs on for $150 - it's free software, but people paid for it.

The issue of free software has very little to do with "cheapness", and everything to do with long term benefits for all.

I know, you're trying to change that, but face it: Commercial software is not inherently evil, Proprietary software is not evil, RMS be damned.

This is a fairly common mistake on Slashdot - stating your position does not make it valid. Stallman has quite eloquently argued that for various social, economic and technical reasons it's better for software to be free than proprietary. He's never said proprietary software is "evil", and apart from some excitable ACs on /. I have yet to see anybody else claim that either.

So, if you want to be taken seriously, you're going to have to:

a) Respond to Stallmans arguments.
b) Provide some of your own showing that proprietary software is a good thing.

Quick tip about the second one - saying "that's how it's always worked" is not an argument.

Your last paragraph confuses me - it appears to imply that free software is always lacking in features to proprietary software. No matter how much I'm willing to pay, I'm unable to get a version of Internet Explorer that has tabs built in, or that has non-lame JavaScript error reporting without crash-prone extra debuggers, which in fact is currently frustrating my work no end (which is why I'm reading slashdot :). Convenience is an entirely separate issue.

And in fact in this case it appears from some of the comments that GNUcash is significantly more stable and integrated on Linux at any rate than MoneyDance. I don't know enough to compare features.

Boy, did I read THAT wrong! (1)

Peale (9155) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807293)

I read it as MONKEYDANCE. Here, I was picturing...well...I suppose it's best left to my imagination. I'll let yours do it's own thing.

Re:Boy, did I read THAT wrong! (1)

pubjames (468013) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807436)

I read it as MONKEYDANCE. Here, I was picturing...well...

Steve Ballamer? Funny, I was reading an interview on News.com with Stevie and the came to Slashdot, and I read it as "MonkeyDance" as well.

How well does online banking work? (1)

astrashe (7452) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807294)

How well does this program and GunCash work with online banking systems? I've read that they both do it, but how well does it work in the real world, and how does it compare in terms of ease of use to Quicken or Money?

Re:How well does online banking work? (0, Funny)

NewbieProgrammerMan (558327) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807431)

How well does this program and GunCash work with online banking systems?
Just a guess here, but I would expect that GunCash could be very helpful when you want to make large withdrawals, even from banks where you don't have an account.

A couple thoughts... (1, Funny)

Flabby Boohoo (606425) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807295)

1) I would like to see the software reveiwed somewhere with some accounting creds (or just some mainstream software creds).

2) I must stop using the word "creds".

3) MoneyDance, IMHO, is not a very professional sounding name. It sounds like shareware.

Article (seems to be /.'ed) (1, Informative)

sultanoslack (320583) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807298)

For those of you who may not have heard, MoneyDance 2003 was released on March 28th, 2003 for general public consumption. It is available for Linux, Mac OSX, and also Windows. Geared toward current Intuit Quicken and Microsoft Money users, MoneyDance 2003 is packed full of features.

This is more than a software release to the Linux world. It is a step forward. Until now, Linux had a fairly large hole which was void of proper personal finance software (aside from the obvious gnucash), but MoneyDance seems to be on the right track to bridging that gap. At one time, when the software was dropped by the company that owned it, the outlook appeared bleak... but since it's been given new life by it's original developer, Reilly Technologies, MoneyDance appears to have a bright future.

On to the review...

by MadJudu:

When asked if I was interested in reviewing MoneyDance 2003, I jumped at the opportunity. As a long-time Windows user and Computer Applications Instructor I have been eagerly awaiting software such as MoneyDance to make my conversion from Windows to Linux complete. It has been a slow process finding quality, sophisticated Linux software that is comparable to their Windows counterparts. Fortunately in banking software I have found a keeper with MoneyDance and am one step closer to making this happen. Below are my observations on this great software.

INSTALLATION

The installation was quick and easy. I filled out the information on their free download link and that took me to the instruction page. The instructions were simple and few, just the way I like it. This was my first unsupervised Linux install. The only thing I needed an explanation for was the following symbol "%>" which is the Konsole prompt. At first I didn't realize that I wasn't supposed to type that along with the command.

IMPORTING QIF FILES

I created nine exported QIF files from Quicken, which contained all the info for my accounts. There were three bank, four credit, and two cash accounts. The first time you open MoneyDance the opening screen has three options: Create New File, Open Existing File and Import File. The program already knows that you're importing a QIF file once you click on the Import File button. All the accounts imported easily, however there were a number of duplicate transactions created in the process. The help files noted that this is a possibility and that you may have to "find and remove a duplicate transaction or two." In the case of a year's worth of transactions, it would be more than a few duplicates and wasn't worth the trouble. I ended up not importing the two cash accounts. All the other accounts imported without creating duplicates and with the same balances that were on the original Quicken accounts. As soon as I added the cash accounts, most of the account balances changed with the added duplicate files.

I do not believe that this is a problem with MoneyDance as much as it is a problem with the originating software. It would be preferable if QIF files included all the bank accounts in one QIF instead of one QIF for each individual account. With this design it would seem that duplicates are inevitable. This is something to consider when trying to decide whether to transfer your account information to MoneyDance or just start fresh with a brand new file and go from there.

As a side note, I noticed that there is also an option to import OFX (Open Financial Exchange) through the Menu Bar if your current banking software does not use QIF.

EASE OF USE

The program is simple and easy to use. All accounts are shown in your Root Account (Home Page) in a kind of "snapshot" format. It lists each name and account balance. From there you can select an account and go into that register.

Whatever account you choose to use, each new transaction is shown as a blank check. You just fill in the appropriate blanks and select Record. There are useful features that are similar to Quicken such as the date shortcut codes (t=today, y=beginning of the year, m=beginning of the month, h=end of the month and r=end of the year). The only difference between this and Quicken is that MoneyDance rotates only during the current year where as in Quicken the date rotates continuously. For example, if you press "y" twice in Quicken, the first one will go to the beginning of this year, the second one will go to the beginning of last year and so on. MoneyDance stops at the current year.

There is also an auto-completion feature. I recommend that you set your preferences to turn off "Case Sensitive Auto Completion." This will allow to to use auto complete, but not have to use upper and lower case typing in the process. The Account List and Check Number boxes are also auto fill combo boxes. The only thing I don't like about auto-fills is when it fills in the amount of a previous transaction along with the name and account. How often have you had your grocery bill be the same amount as the last time you went shopping? There is a Split feature so that you can break up one transaction into various accounts. These are all standard features of Quicken and it is very nice to see standard features of MoneyDance as well.

One feature that is a nice addition and is not as readily accessible in Quicken is the Memorize Button. With MoneyDance it is right there when you're entering your transaction. So instead of entering your rent or mortgage check every month, just click on the Memorize Button. A dialog box will come up giving you entry options of how you want this transaction to be shown. You can set it for once a month, once a year or on set days throughout the month. Then when you're ready to enter that transaction, you click on the reminder and press the Record Transaction Button. The reminder also shows on the Calendar that is on your Root Account. It is very nice to see the Calendar so conveniently located. Another wonderful feature of the Reminders is that you have the option of not only adding a Transaction Reminder, but you can do a General Reminder as well. This means you can add your paydays and other important dates that will help you budget your financing better.

Deleting a transaction is quick and painless by selecting the transaction you want to delete and pressing the Delete Button. And as an added delight it doesn't ask you the obnoxious question "Are you sure?"

REPORTS AND GRAPHS

At first I thought there were no report options, but then I noticed the four icons on the right side of the Root Account (Home, Find, Charts, Reports). The Reports feature has a number of pre-designed reports such as Net Worth, Cash Flow, Missing Checks and Memorized Reports. I would have liked to have my memorized reports transferred over from Quicken but since it took me less than two minutes to create three memorized reports I can't really complain.

Although I have little use for graphs, it is another useful and easy to use feature with pre-designed graphs in 3D or 2D and they too can be memorized.

Both Memorized Reports and Graphs will show up as a link on the Root Account once they have been created. Yet another useful and convenient feature which can be removed if you so desire through your Preferences.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I was able to dabble in just about everything MoneyDance had to offer with the exception of Investment Accounts. I have none as of yet, but I can't imagine it being a difficult process to create and use them since nothing else in this application was.

Overall I found the software very easy to use. It has most of the features of Quicken and in many cases, in an easier to use design. Quicken has a lot more bells and whistles, but in my opinion most of it is fluff and not necessary. MoneyDance is streamlined. It is lean and mean, but in a good way. It has all the features you would need with the conveniences and shortcuts you like, and is definitely worth the purchase price of $29.99 plus applicable tax.

I have only one complaint and that is that the MoneyDance file has to be saved. Instead of each transaction being saved as it is recorded, I still have to save the file before exiting in order to keep the recorded data. Fortunately there is an auto-save feature, just in case I space it and forget to save before exiting. MoneyDance will then give me the option of returning to a newer auto-save file or the file as it was when I last exited.

There is one thing I would like to see in the future though and that is the capability to make a year end copy. When you use banking software as long as I have, you don't want one huge file with years and years of transactions. The current year will do with back up copies of all previous years. The only thing I ask is that the makers of MoneyDance make it better than Quicken's. It works, mostly...

MonkeyDance 2003 (aka webchat.org) (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807301)

No reason to preview, it happens everyday. kc and ScootK being the stars of the show.

I was just having a related discussion on this... (1)

StressGuy (472374) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807311)

Basically I was saying that, I like Linux, I'm really impressed with the improvements that the available desktops have been making and I'd love to replace my windows installation with it. However, the one thing that I absolutely must have is a solid financial software suite. Right now, I use Quicken 2003 (with Quicken BillPay - been using Checkfree almost since it's inception) and Kiplinger TaxCut. To migrate to Linux, I need something with a similar feature set.

The Codeweavers software looks too dicey for Quicken right now (but I'll be keeping my eye on it). I'd love to see the MoneyDance review when it is no longer /.'d.

Password in error message ??? (0)

LJPeixoto (130298) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807331)

Warning: Access denied for user: 'apache@localhost' (Using password: NO) in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32

Enter new password: No, thanks!
Invalid password.
Enter new password: No!
Invalid password.
Enter new password: NO

PS: I dont know if an error log available to the Internet is a good place to put the password, but ... :-) Password changed.

Re:Password in error message ??? (2, Informative)

LHN (599122) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807532)

Actually, no password was displayed here, just a message letting everyone know that the account name is apache, and there is no password.

Why bother... (1)

Ratphace (667701) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807339)


...messing with a product like this these days? Today's online banking systems are getting so sophisticated that I think releasing something like this for home users is close to pointless. I mean, I can get all the same kind of value and functionality from my online banking service, which is free as well as all the tools and options it provides.

Something to consider...

Re:Why bother... (1)

xiaix (247688) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807413)

Of course this gives you the added benefit of having no records except the bank records, which saves you the trouble of disputing errors since the only record being kept is theirs.

This was actually one of the issues I had with Quicken. The ability to download and import all your transactions is great at first, but missing something was far more likely than it is if you are visually comparing the info and manually reconciling. There is a reason (besides keeping accounting staff employed) that this type of work involves human intervention and review in a corporate setting. My personal finances are just as important to me as a companies finances are to them. I will keep my own records, thank you.

Is MoneyDance... (-1, Offtopic)

Anonymous Coward | more than 10 years ago | (#5807355)

...Anything like the "Safety Dance"?

Ah we can dance if we want to, we can leave your friends behind
Cause your friends don't dance and if they don't dance
Well they're are no friends of mine
I say, we can go where we want to, A place where they will never find
And we can act like we come from out of this world
Leave the real one far behind,
and we can dance

We can dance if we want to, we can leave your friends behind
Cause your friends don't dance and if they don't dance
Well they're are no friends of mine
I say, we can go where we want to a place where they will never find
And we can act like we come from out of this world
Leave the real one far behind
and we can dance.

Francois!

Ah we can go when we want to the night is young and so am I
And we can dress real neat from our hats to our feet
and surprise 'em with the victory cry

I Say we can act if want to if we don't nobody will
And you can act real rude and totally removed
And i can act like an imbecile
I say we can dance, we can dance everything out control
We can dance, we can dance we're doing it wall to wall
We can dance, we can dance everybody look at your hands
We can dance, we can dance everybody takin' the chance
Money dance
Oh well the money dance
Ah yes the money dance

Mmmm-Oooo-Nnnn-Eeee-Yyyy
Money-Dance

We can dance if we want to, we've got all your life and mine
As long as we abuse it, never gonna lose it
Everything'll work out right
I say, we can dance if we want to we can leave your friends behind
Cause your friends don't dance and if they don't dance
Well they're are no friends of mine
I say we can dance, we can dance everything out control
We can dance, we can dance we're doing it wall to wall
We can dance, we can dance everybody look at your hands
We can dance, we can dance everybody's takin' the chance
Oh Well the money dance
ah yes the money dance
Oh well the money dance
Oh well the money dance
Oh yes the money dance
Oh the money dance yeah
Oh it's the money dance
It's the money dance
Well it's the money dance
Oh it's the money dance
Oh it's the money dance
Oh it's the money dance
Oh it's the money dance

I need portability... (1)

bavander (316929) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807374)

I have been using Microsoft Money for about 10 years (started with a free version and keep getting new versions with computers. I also use Ultrasoft Money Pocket Edition to enter transactions on my old Handspring Visor. This is the killer app to me. Every time I conduct a transaction, it gets entered immediately, and then batch sync'ed to Money on my desktop once or twice a week.

Money is one of the few reasons I boot into Windows anymore. Are there any open source alternatives to this system? Could GNUcash or MoneyDance be extended to the Zaurus? That way I could justify a Zaurus purchase to my wife!

Re:I need portability... (1)

MCRocker (461060) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807460)

Could GNUcash or MoneyDance be extended to the Zaurus? That way I could justify a Zaurus purchase to my wife!


Sean might be able to port it, but it would take a lot of work. MoneyDance uses the Swing library heavily, so it would be a major rework to get it to work on Java Personal Profile, which is what the Zaurus uses.

There are also some form factor issues. Although it would probably run just fine on SavaJe [savaje.com] XE, the small screen size would cause major problems and it would likely be unusable without some sort of redesign for the smaller screen.

Besides, SavaJe XE is no longer available. Sun insists that handheld devices only run J2ME and has blocked SavaJe from making their existing full J2SE compliant version of SavaJe OS 2.0 available to the public. MochaWorks [mochaworks.com] will be making a Java Personal Profile version of SavaJe OS 2.0 available on some PDA's soon, but the full J2SE won't be available at all even though they have the technical ability to do so.

Is this related to hamster dance? (1)

pamdirac (184338) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807378)

http://www.hampsterdance.com/hampsterdanceredux.ht ml

Seriously though, I've been using Moneydance for about 3 years. Only on Linux, because I can't afford Windows. :) It's pretty fast, it has all the basic features I want, etc.

The downsides are:
1) Obviously, not Free
2) I stopped upgrading when they started adding time bombs.

When I started using it, there was really no viable alternative for Linux. I'm looking to move to GnuCash at some point; I'm just slow about screwing with what I use to track my finances.

If Moneydance were Free, it might be worth sticking with it.

Oh, great. (1)

matt-fu (96262) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807379)

Just what we need: a website with animated .gifs of money dancing and annoying music playing in the background. As if the hamsters weren't enough!

Real Coup for MoneyDance and users (5, Informative)

MCRocker (461060) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807397)

This release is a real coup for MoneyDance's author, Sean Reilly. A while ago, he sold MoneyDance to Apgen. At first this worked out really well because they added a lot of resources to the project and development really took off.

Unfortunately, when Apgen's fortunes started to fade with the end of the .com bubble, the MoneyDance staff was slowly laid off until even Sean was let go.

Like many other zombie probjects, the MoneyDance web page was not taken down and Apgen was still selling it even though nobody was home. There was no support at all. The mailing list was a scary place then. It took months for people to figure out what was going on. Apgen didn't respond at all to help requests and the list turned to a big discussion on what the alternatives were.

Somehow, Sean managed to get the rights to MoneyDance back just a few months ago and started working on the new version that he just released.

Lots of good ideas have sunk in the last year or so of economic trouble in the software industry. Most will never resurface and have been lost forever. This is a real coup for Sean and the MoneyDance users that Sean was able to resurect this fine project and produce a new version in such a short time.

The Apgen folks have been very quiet about the whole thing for obvious reasons, but I think they are an example to follow. They made a valiant effort to promote MoneyDance, but when it didn't work out they set MoneyDance free instead of locking it up and throwing away the key. For some strange reason, this isn't the norm.

Mirror of Text (0, Offtopic)

ag3n7 (442539) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807408)

Warning: Too many connections in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 28

Warning: Access denied for user: 'apache@localhost' (Using password: NO) in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32

Warning: MySQL Connection Failed: Access denied for user: 'apache@localhost' (Using password: NO) in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32

Warning: MySQL: A link to the server could not be established in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/madpenguin.org/httpdocs /mainfile.php on line 32
Unable to select database

Is MoneyDance... (-1, Offtopic)

LordYUK (552359) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807418)

...Anything like the "Safety Dance"?

Ah we can dance if we want to, we can leave your friends behind
Cause your friends don't dance and if they don't dance
Well they're are no friends of mine
I say, we can go where we want to, A place where they will never find
And we can act like we come from out of this world
Leave the real one far behind,
and we can dance

We can dance if we want to, we can leave your friends behind
Cause your friends don't dance and if they don't dance
Well they're are no friends of mine
I say, we can go where we want to a place where they will never find
And we can act like we come from out of this world
Leave the real one far behind
and we can dance.

Francois!

Ah we can go when we want to the night is young and so am I
And we can dress real neat from our hats to our feet
and surprise 'em with the victory cry

I Say we can act if want to if we don't nobody will
And you can act real rude and totally removed
And i can act like an imbecile
I say we can dance, we can dance everything out control
We can dance, we can dance we're doing it wall to wall
We can dance, we can dance everybody look at your hands
We can dance, we can dance everybody takin' the chance
Money dance
Oh well the money dance
Ah yes the money dance

Mmmm-Oooo-Nnnn-Eeee-Yyyy
Money-Dance

We can dance if we want to, we've got all your life and mine
As long as we abuse it, never gonna lose it
Everything'll work out right
I say, we can dance if we want to we can leave your friends behind
Cause your friends don't dance and if they don't dance
Well they're are no friends of mine
I say we can dance, we can dance everything out control
We can dance, we can dance we're doing it wall to wall
We can dance, we can dance everybody look at your hands
We can dance, we can dance everybody's takin' the chance
Oh Well the money dance
ah yes the money dance
Oh well the money dance
Oh well the money dance
Oh yes the money dance
Oh the money dance yeah
Oh it's the money dance
It's the money dance
Well it's the money dance
Oh it's the money dance
Oh it's the money dance
Oh it's the money dance
Oh it's the money dance

Oh no, not another (1)

OpMindFck (204177) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807462)

At first I thought the headline was referring to another HampsterDance ripoff like JesusDance.

Little dollar bills doing the twist. Surprised I havn't seen it yet.

Kupo Kupo! (3, Funny)

JessLeah (625838) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807469)

If Mog does the Money Dance, does he start tossing GP at enemies? And what does it change the background to? O_o

Palm version (2, Informative)

DoorFrame (22108) | more than 10 years ago | (#5807505)

One of the reasons that I'm able to keep track of my finances is that there's a Palm Pilot Quicken tool which allows me to track everything I do throughout the day, even when I'm nowhere near a computer to enter the transaction. Without this tool remembering every expense was getting extremely difficult and I was considering giving up on the project.

Now, before I even consider looking at this program, does it have a similar attachment?
Load More Comments
Slashdot Account

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?

Don't worry, we never post anything without your permission.

Submission Text Formatting Tips

We support a small subset of HTML, namely these tags:

  • b
  • i
  • p
  • br
  • a
  • ol
  • ul
  • li
  • dl
  • dt
  • dd
  • em
  • strong
  • tt
  • blockquote
  • div
  • quote
  • ecode

"ecode" can be used for code snippets, for example:

<ecode>    while(1) { do_something(); } </ecode>
Sign up for Slashdot Newsletters
Create a Slashdot Account

Loading...