Beta

×

Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

Before you choose to head back to the Classic look of the site, we'd appreciate it if you share your thoughts on the Beta; your feedback is what drives our ongoing development.

Beta is different and we value you taking the time to try it out. Please take a look at the changes we've made in Beta and  learn more about it. Thanks for reading, and for making the site better!

The Pirate Party of Canada is official!

wasme (35127) writes | more than 4 years ago

Canada 3

wasme (35127) writes "The Pirate Party of Canada (PPCA) has become the first Pirate Party outside of Europe to become an official political party. Elections Canada confirmed with the party on the 12th that the PPCA has gained "eligible for registration" status, and can run in elections starting June 14, 2010. Read the Party's official announcement:

"We are pleased to announce that as of April 12, 2010, the Pirate Party of Canada (PPCA) is officially eligible for Party Status.

After ten months of dedication and hard work, we have reached eligible status, which only leaves a 60-day “purgatory” period. After that, we will field candidates in subsequent federal elections, and begin the real work of a political party.""

cancel ×

3 comments

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

Finally! (1)

sh3p (1716756) | more than 4 years ago | (#31840802)

Very proud to be an official member! See you all at the next meeting! IRC at irc://irc.pirateparty.ca/canada SSL port 6697 Monday, April 19th at: 5:00 pm PDT (BC) 6:00 pm MDT (Alberta) 6:00 pm CST (Saskatchewan) 7:00 pm CDT (Manitoba) 8:00 pm EDT (Ontario/Quebec) 9:00 pm ADT (New Brunswick/Nova Scotia/PEI) 9:30 pm NDT (Newfoundland)

They've got my vote ... (1)

Grant Potter (1789516) | more than 4 years ago | (#31840924)

A Party and Platform I can get behind ... they got my $ support and can count on me for more ...

Yaaaar, eh? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 4 years ago | (#31842212)

n/t

Check for New Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?
or Connect with...

Don't worry, we never post anything without your permission.

Submission Text Formatting Tips

We support a small subset of HTML, namely these tags:

  • b
  • i
  • p
  • br
  • a
  • ol
  • ul
  • li
  • dl
  • dt
  • dd
  • em
  • strong
  • tt
  • blockquote
  • div
  • quote
  • ecode

"ecode" can be used for code snippets, for example:

<ecode>    while(1) { do_something(); } </ecode>