Beta
×

Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

Before you choose to head back to the Classic look of the site, we'd appreciate it if you share your thoughts on the Beta; your feedback is what drives our ongoing development.

Beta is different and we value you taking the time to try it out. Please take a look at the changes we've made in Beta and  learn more about it. Thanks for reading, and for making the site better!

Privacy Violation in Chase Bank's iOS app

Anonymous Coward writes | about 2 years ago

Privacy 2

An anonymous reader writes "The Chase Bank iOS application does not uninstall cleanly and shows your sensitive account alerts to subsequent installations of the app. Alerts for previous accounts include the last four of account numbers, account and transaction balances, and date and place identifier information. This has been reproduced using the latest iOS and app as well as previous versions over the last 5 month period. Despite numerous phone calls, emails, and twitter conversations, it appears that Chase is not taking this seriously.

Until they do, be very careful loaning or selling any iOS device to which you have previously setup the Chase Mobile Banking application.

TLDR; The Chase Bank iOS application does not uninstall cleanly and shows your sensitive account alerts to subsequent installations of the app."

Link to Original Source

cancel ×

2 comments

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

Scary (0)

Anonymous Coward | about 2 years ago | (#42000327)

Wow that's kind of scary. Makes me glad I don't do my banking on a mobile device.

Privacy Violation - possible scenarios (1)

ksiezop (2775411) | about 2 years ago | (#42000815)

The reasons for this situation may be different. Most likely, the application does not remove the file, which contains the previous user credentials. Possible, however, that the application removes the data but the operating system after the second installation of the application allocates the same i-node number in the file system. The question is whether the application may be getting the same i-node number that has not been overwritten, check if there is an entry and not overwrite just add another user's data?
Check for New Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?