Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

Before you choose to head back to the Classic look of the site, we'd appreciate it if you share your thoughts on the Beta; your feedback is what drives our ongoing development.

Beta is different and we value you taking the time to try it out. Please take a look at the changes we've made in Beta and  learn more about it. Thanks for reading, and for making the site better!

Five Internet Founders Share first £1 Million Engineering 'Nobel' Prize

judgecorp (778838) writes | about a year and a half ago

Network 0

judgecorp writes "The first Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering, worth £1 million, has been shared by five founders of the Internet and the World Wide Web. As well as Sir Tim Berners Lee and Vint Cerf, the other recpients are Cerf's colleague Bob Kahn, creator of the Mosaic browser Marc Andreeseen, and a much less well known Frenchman, Louis Pouzin, aged 82. Working at Bell Labs, Pouzin invented the datagram protocols on which Cerf and Kahn based the TCP/IP protocols. The judges originally planned the prize for a maximum of three winners, but that had to change, thanks to the collaborative nature of the Internet. All the recipients praised their colleagues and pointed out that engineering is always a team effort “Fortunately we are still alive," joked Pouzin. “It is forty years since we did the things for which we are being honoured.” Awarded in the UK, the prize is an international effort to create an engineering counterpart to the Nobels. The judgesconsidered entries from 65 countries."
Link to Original Source

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

Check for New Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?